A Pure Woman

Vineyard house season is officially open. Last week I took the 8PM dolmuş there. The two-hour journey on the bumpy roads of central Anatolia was almost… otherworldly. I read rather enthusiastically a few chapters from Music by My Bedside. Then the driver turned the lights off inside the vehicle and my carefully-selected mix of heavy metal music accompanied me for the rest of the way in semi-darkness. Metallica’s Low Man’s Lyric was especially memorable in the setting. I realized how much I had missed being on my own and surrounding myself with my “likes.”

I don’t know what to call this… this “mood” really. It’s when you are alone and very comfortable, completely immersed in your own world, either curled on your bed, on a long bus ride, lying under cherry blossoms or simply sitting in front of your computer, drinking a warm cup of tea/coffee/hot chocolate or a glass of your preferred spirits and you’re watching/reading/listening to something you like or something you longed to watch/read/listen to. Bullet points might have helped with the description, but whatever, you see what I mean.

Anyway, I’m visiting the vineyard house for the first time in six months, I’m in the comfort of my bedroom in the attic and I’ve just found out that I could take an extra day off work. Perfect! Yay!  So I settle to watch BBC’s Tess of the d’Urbervilles, starring Gemma Arterton. Only this time, I devour all four episodes in one go instead of watching them one at a day like I did with North and South.

And? Well, I was expecting something else altogether. Most of all a happy ending. Honestly, Tess must be one of the most depressing pieces of fiction I ever came across. But it was very interesting. There are so many things to be said about it. I have so many things to say about it, but it would make more sense and read the book first and then restructure them. In the meantime, I came across this journal article by Ertuğrul Koç: Tess of the d’Urbervilles: the Tragedy of Godless Human Existence. It felt good to do some serious reading and actually like it. Yes, this counts as serious to me *grins*

Wallpaper - 2560 x 1600

Wallpaper – 2560 x 1600

Leave a comment perhaps?

